Freight factoring companies compared
What six freight factoring companies publish about recourse, advances, contracts, funding speed and extras, in alphabetical order. Then a vendor-neutral checklist so you can compare any offer on the same terms.
Key takeaways
- None of the six companies publishes a fixed factoring rate on its site. Every one tells you to ask for a quote.
- Apex Capital, eCapital and OTR Solutions say on their sites that they offer both recourse and non-recourse plans. Triumph says non-recourse contracts are available on approved brokers.
- Contract terms differ: Apex says no long-term contracts and no monthly minimums; Bobtail describes a 90-day trial you can cancel without penalty, then a longer contract.
- Before you sign, get the rate structure, recourse period, reserve, minimums, contract length, termination notice and buyout fees in writing.
Read this first
Prices and features as listed on each company's website in October 2026. They change often, so check before you sign. Fleetorica is not affiliated with and is not paid by any company on this page.
Companies are listed in alphabetical order. This is not a ranking. We only show what each company publishes on its own website. Where a company does not publish something, we say so, and you should ask for it in writing.
New to factoring? Start with our freight factoring guide, which explains advances, reserves and how a factor collects from your broker. This page is general information, not legal or financial advice. Your signed contract is what counts.
At a glance
| Company | Recourse / non-recourse | Rate or advance | Contract term | Funding speed (as stated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apex Capital | Both offered | Rate not published, ask for a quote. Flat, tiered or custom pricing. | No long-term contracts, no monthly minimums, no monthly or cancellation fees | Minutes after invoices are purchased; 24/7 for qualifying clients |
| Bobtail | Not stated on its site | Single flat rate, not published, ask for a quote. No reserve requirements. | 90-day trial, cancel without penalty; then a longer-term contract | Same day if submitted before 11 AM ET, Monday to Friday; expedited for a fee |
| eCapital (tafs.com now redirects here) | Both offered | Rate not published, ask for a quote | Not published | As fast as 1 hour; weekend funding available |
| OTR Solutions | Both offered | Rate not published, ask for a quote. Up to 0.5% off with its fuel card. | Not published | Same day on approved invoices; instant 24/7/365 option |
| RTS | Not stated on its factoring pages | Advance of more than 90% within 24 hours; balance minus a fee when paid | Not published | Same day through its app |
| Triumph | Non-recourse contracts available on approved brokers | Rate not published, ask for a quote | Not published | Eligible invoices paid in minutes to its LoadPay debit account |
"Not published" means we could not find it on the company's site on October 9, 2026. It does not mean the company lacks that term. Ask.
What each company publishes
Apex Capital
- Recourse and non-recourse plans. Its FAQ says non-recourse means Apex takes the loss if the customer does not pay for credit reasons.
- Pricing is set per client and may be flat, tiered or custom. No rate is published.
- Says no long-term contracts, no monthly minimums, and no monthly or cancellation fees.
- You choose which invoices to factor, but once you factor a customer, Apex asks you to factor all invoices for that customer.
- Funding by its blynk digital payment system in minutes, or ACH, wire, check or to its fuel card. Its 24/7 Factoring page mentions a standard 3 PM CST paperwork cutoff, with 24/7 funding for qualifying clients after that.
- Extras: Apex TCS Fuel Card; a fuel credit line starting at $2,500 if you sign a factoring agreement and the fuel card; broker and shipper credit checks at no extra cost; free Roadside Rescue membership; a startup program for new authorities.
Bobtail
- Recourse or non-recourse is not stated on its factoring pages.
- A single flat factoring rate, not published. Its FAQ says no reserve requirements and no hidden fees.
- Its FAQ says you start with a 90-day trial, which you can cancel without penalty, and then move to a long-term contract.
- You choose which brokers to factor and which to bill yourself.
- Same-day funding if you submit before 11 AM EST Monday to Friday, paid by 6 PM EST. Same-day and next-day are free; expedited payment costs an extra fee.
- Extras: Bobtail Mastercard fleet card, credit checks on brokers and shippers in its app, a TMS.
eCapital
- When we checked on October 9, 2026, tafs.com redirected to ecapital.com.
- Recourse or non-recourse options are listed on its freight factoring page. Rate not published.
- Contract length not published.
- Funding in as little as 1 hour; you can move money 24/7, 365 days a year.
- Extras: a fuel card with $2,500 in pre-approved credit (some fleet bundles list $5,000), a factoring and fuel bundle with rate discounts, a customer credit check tool, and non-notification factoring for high-volume fleets.
OTR Solutions
- Offers both recourse and non-recourse. Its non-recourse program is called True Non-Recourse Factoring; OTR says there are no chargebacks on it, even after 90 days, if you met your contract obligations.
- Rate not published. Its FAQ says pairing factoring with the OTR Fuel Card can take up to 0.5% off your factoring rate.
- Contract length not published. You do not have to factor every invoice, but once you factor a broker, future loads with that broker must be factored until a letter of release is issued.
- Same-day funding on approved invoices, plus instant 24/7/365 funding with no cutoff times.
- Extras: OTR Fuel Card, fuel advances ($15 to the fuel card, $24 by Comchek), 24/7 broker credit checks, OTR Clutch business banking, and a free review of your current factoring contract.
RTS
- Recourse or non-recourse is not stated on its factoring pages.
- Advances more than 90% of the invoice within 24 hours, then sends the remaining balance minus a fee once the invoice is paid. Rate not published; the estimate on its page is not a guaranteed offer.
- Contract length not published.
- Same-day payment when you upload through its app.
- Extras: RTS fuel cards (it states average savings of 45 cents per gallon at 4,000+ stations, and credit lines up to $3,200 per truck per week on its most popular card), a bundle discount for fuel plus factoring, broker credit checks, a load board, and equipment financing for factoring clients.
Triumph
- Non-recourse contracts available. Triumph says it takes the risk on approved brokers.
- Rate not published.
- Contract length not published. You pick the loads and brokers you factor.
- Eligible invoices paid in minutes, day or night, to its LoadPay debit account. It states an average purchase decision in 90 seconds.
- Extras: 24/7 broker credit checks, a fuel card through TCS (2,000+ in-network locations, tire and maintenance discounts at TA), insurance and equipment finance. Factoring is offered by TBK Bank, SSB, d/b/a Triumph.
Rate, flat fee, reserves and minimums
Compare the total cost on the same load, not the headline percentage.
- Flat rate. The same percentage on every invoice no matter how long the broker takes to pay.
- Tiered rate. The fee goes up the longer the broker takes, often in 15-day steps (OTR's FAQ describes this). A low first tier can cost more if your brokers pay slowly.
- Advance and reserve. Some factors pay most of the invoice now and hold the rest (the reserve) until the broker pays, like RTS's "more than 90%" advance. Others pay the full invoice minus the fee. Ask when the reserve is released and what can be taken out of it.
- Other fees. Ask about ACH, wire, same-day, expedited, invoice processing, monthly, application and termination fees. Bobtail, for example, charges for expedited pay but not for same-day or next-day.
- Minimums. Some contracts require a minimum monthly volume and charge a fee if you miss it. Apex states it has no monthly minimums.
- Fuel bundles. Several factors cut the rate if you also use their fuel card. Count that only if you will really fuel in their network.
Run your real numbers through the cost per mile calculator so the factoring fee shows up as a cost per mile.
Recourse vs non-recourse
Recourse: if the broker does not pay, you buy the invoice back, often by having it taken from future advances or your reserve. Non-recourse: the factor takes the loss, but only in the situations the contract names.
Read the non-recourse clause line by line:
- Does it cover only broker insolvency or bankruptcy, or any non-payment for credit reasons?
- Does it apply only to brokers the factor approved before you hauled?
- Disputes over shortages, damage, late delivery or missing paperwork are usually not credit losses. Who pays then?
- After how many days can an unpaid invoice be charged back to you?
- How much higher is the rate for non-recourse than for recourse?
Several of the companies above say non-recourse protection depends on approved brokers or on you meeting your contract obligations. Get that condition in writing.
Contract length, notice and buyouts
- Term. Ask for the exact term: month-to-month, a trial period, or 12 months. Ask whether it renews automatically.
- Termination notice. OTR's FAQ notes many contracts require 30, 60 or 90 days' written notice before the end date, and missing it can renew the contract for another year. Ask how notice must be sent: email to a set address, or certified mail.
- Early termination fee. Ask if it is a flat fee or a percentage of unmet volume, and whether there is a separate buyout or handling fee.
- Buyout when you switch. The new factor pays off what you owe the old one to get a release. OTR suggests budgeting 2 to 3 days of lag; Bobtail says about 2 days. Plan fuel money for that gap.
- Factor all or some. Ask if you must factor every invoice, or every invoice for a broker you have factored once.
NOA, letter of release and UCC filings
Notice of assignment (NOA). The factor sends each broker a notice that your invoices are assigned and must be paid to the factor. Under the model Uniform Commercial Code (section 9-406), once the broker receives that notice it can only clear its debt by paying the factor, not you. If a broker pays you by mistake after an NOA, forward the money to your factor right away; Apex's FAQ says not to deposit it.
Letter of release (LOR). When you leave a factor or stop factoring a broker, the factor sends a letter releasing the assignment so the broker can pay you or your new factor. OTR's FAQ says a release usually comes once your balance is zero and can take 30 to 60 days. Do not switch until the broker has the release.
UCC filing. Factors usually file a UCC-1 financing statement on your receivables. OTR's FAQ notes a second factor will not take second position behind it, so you generally can't use two factors at once. When you leave, ask for the UCC termination in writing. The model UCC (section 9-513) says that for sold accounts, once the account debtor has paid, the secured party must send or file a termination within 20 days after your signed demand. States adopt the UCC with changes, so check your state's version.
Broker credit checks and questions to ask
All six companies say they offer some form of broker or customer credit check. Use it before you book, not after. A broker your factor won't approve can mean no advance, or a recourse invoice even on a non-recourse plan. Pair it with our broker vetting checklist.
Questions to ask any factor, in writing:
- What is my rate, flat or tiered, and what are the tiers?
- What is the advance, how big is the reserve, and when is it released?
- Every other fee: ACH, wire, same-day, expedited, fuel advance, monthly, termination, buyout.
- Recourse or non-recourse, what non-recourse covers, and after how many days a chargeback can happen.
- Monthly minimums or concentration limits on one broker.
- Contract term, auto-renewal, notice period and how notice must be sent.
- Do I have to factor every invoice?
- Funding cutoff time and what happens on weekends and holidays.
- How long a letter of release and UCC termination take when I leave.
Want help comparing offers and sending NOAs? See our factoring setup service.
- Apex Capital: Freight and trucking factoring
- Apex Capital: Factoring FAQ
- Apex Capital: 24/7 Factoring
- Bobtail: Factoring
- Bobtail: Factoring FAQs
- eCapital: Freight factoring
- OTR Solutions: True Non-Recourse Factoring
- OTR Solutions: FAQs
- RTS: Freight factoring
- RTS: Fuel cards
- Triumph: Freight factoring for carriers
- Triumph: Fuel program
- UCC 9-406: Notification of assignment (Cornell LII)
- UCC 9-513: Termination statement (Cornell LII)
This page is general information, not legal or tax advice. Rules change; confirm with FMCSA, the IRS or your state before you file.
Questions carriers ask
Which freight factoring company has the lowest rate?
None of the six companies on this page publishes a fixed rate. They price each client by volume, broker mix and recourse type, so get written quotes and compare the total cost on the same loads, including every fee and the reserve.
Is non-recourse factoring always better?
Not always. It usually costs more and only covers the cases the contract names, often broker insolvency or credit failure on approved brokers. Disputes over damage, shortages or paperwork usually stay with you.
Can I use two factoring companies at once?
Generally no. The first factor files a UCC on your receivables and sends NOAs to your brokers, and other factors won't take second position. You can switch through a buyout and a letter of release.
How long does it take to switch factors?
OTR suggests budgeting 2 to 3 days of funding lag for a buyout, and Bobtail says about 2 days. Check your current contract's notice period and termination fee first, because missing the notice date can renew the contract.